Home Community 2016 Election Santos, Hasegawa Secure Seats

2016 Election Santos, Hasegawa Secure Seats

With the dramatic presidential election on Tuesday, two local Nikkei politicians State House Representative Sharon Tomiko Santos and State Senator Bob Hasegawa secured their seats after strong returns. Santos earned over 91% votes in her 37th District Position 1 as Hasegawa collected over 77% votes in his 11th District as of Wednesday morning.

Out of state, Colleen Hanabusa won the House Congress District 1 in Hawaii after earning nearly 72% votes as of Wednesday. Congresswoman Doris Matsui earned nearly 75% votes in her 6th District in California, and Congressman Mark Takano also won the House 41st District in California. Congressman Mike Honda, however, lost in the House 17th District conceding nearly 60% of the votes to another Democrat candidate Ro Khanna.

Previous articleMonthly Social Hour with Veterans
Next articleCommunity Appreciates McDermott’s Continued Support
The North American Post is a community newspaper that celebrates Japanese culture in the Greater Seattle area. Founded by 1st generation Japanese-Americans in 1902, the publication is one of the oldest minority-owned newspapers in the region. Today, with bilingual articles in English and Japanese, the publication connects readers with diverse cultural backgrounds to Seattle’s Japanese community. Our articles include local news, event calendars, restaurant reviews, Japanese cooking recipes, community interviews, and more.